Marianna Grynchuk

Season 2014 – The Waltz

Details of our 2014 concert season are now available. To be kept informed, please email us or phone 8332 1208 and ask to join our mailing list.

About the Firm

The Firm is an Adelaide-based organisation that promotes the performance of new solo and chamber works, particularly those of South Australian composers. It also provides a performance platform for some of Australia’s finest young musicians.

The Firm is headed by composers Raymond Chapman Smith and Quentin SD Grant who present a series of concerts each year with a nominated composer in residence that provides a focus and spring board for the creation of the new works and programming of existing works for performance. The Firm also presents special events and tours internationally.

Quentin SD Grant and Raymond Chapman SmithThe Firm was formed in 1996 through the collaboration of Adelaide based composers Raymond Chapman Smith, Quentin SD Grant, John Polglase and David Kotlowy. Known then as Chapman Smith, Kotlowy, Polglase & Grant, the long, corporate-sounding list of surnames quickly earned the organisation the affectionate nickname of “The Firm”. In 2005, Raymond Chapman Smith and Quentin SD Grant took on the management and core composing activities for the organisation.

Since 1996, The Firm has featured works by John Polglase and David Kotlowy (former members of The Firm), Grahame Dudley, James Cuddeford, Luke Altmann, Callie Wood, Anne Cawrse, Melisande Wright, Fiona Hill, and Belinda Gehlert.

Musicians performing for The Firm include Eve Vocal Trio, The Zephyr Quartet, Emma Horwood (soprano), Leigh Harrold (piano), Jamie Cock (piano), Anna Goldsworthy (piano), Nicholas Milton (violin), Geoffrey Bourgault de Coudray (clarinet), Juris Ezergalis (viola), David Lockett (piano), Stefan Ammer (piano), Michael Milton (violin), Hilary Bruer (violin), Minas Berberyan (violin), Rosi McGowran (viola), David Sharp (cello and conductor) and David Shepherd (clarinet).

The Firm have created their own ensembles to perform in the concert series — The Langbein String Quartet (named after the late violinist and composer Brenton Langbein), the Settembrini Piano Trio and the vocal quartet Ensemble Iona.

In 2005 The Firm’s activities diversified to include several special events. Their first CD Night Dreams was recorded by Performer in Residence soprano Emma Horwood and pianist Jamie Cock. Horwood and Cock also presented The Schubert Afternoon and were involved in The Firm’s collaboration with Brink Theatre - This Unchartered Hour.